Opening Day

What a thrill to see so many people yesterday at the opening of the Yadkin River Story at the Yadkin Cultural Arts Center. I tried to talk to as many people as I could. Some found their neighbors among the portraits, or their aunts and uncles. Others were certain they recognized a river scene or the way the sun is reflected at sunset. Yadkinville held its annual Harvest Festival yesterday, so I expected crowds. But I didn’t expect people to pay so much attention to the images and the words that went with them. Thank you.

Phoebe

~ by yadkinriverstory on September 19, 2010.

One Response to “Opening Day”

  1. I just heard your interview on my local NPR station (WFAE) and had to IMMEDIATELY view the project online. After watching (and watching again!), I wanted to simultaneously grab my canoe, dog, bathing suit, bible, picnic lunch with plans to buy a fishing pole so I could immerse myself in all the luxuries that Yakin River has to offer. Thank you for this very intimate view of such a beautiful natural resource we in NC are so fortunate to have and share.

Leave a Reply

 
